The MSU Community Engagement Scholarship Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes senior faculty members of outstanding and sustained accomplishment in community-engaged scholarship through research, creative activity, teaching, and/or service and practice over the span of a career. This includes ranked tenure system faculty members who are in the late stages of their careers. Emeriti faculty may also be considered.

Given the special nature of this distinction, it is not expected to be an annual award, but will be conferred only on those rare occasions when the extraordinary accomplishments of an engaged scholar so warrant it.

Recipients are formally recognized at the Michigan State University Outreach and Engagement Awards Ceremony, where they are presented with a cash award and a glass sculpture to memorialize the accomplishment. 

Award Recipients


Terrie E. Taylor
College of Osteopathic Medicine


Susan J. Masten
College of Engineering


Gordon Henry, Jr.
College of Arts and Letters


Hiram E. Fitzgerald
College of Social Science


Carl S. Taylor
College of Social Science


William S. Davidson II
College of Social Science


Mildred A. Horodynski
College of Nursing