Since 2006, the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) and the Engagement Scholarship Consortium (ESC), with support from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, have partnered to annually recognize the outstanding community-university engagement scholarship work of four-year public universities who have redesigned their learning, discovery, and engagement missions to become even more involved with their communities.

The W.K. Kellogg Foundation Community Engagement Scholarship Awards program selects one recipient from the instituional nominations of each of four regions across the U.S. and internationally. Each of the four regional recipients receives a glass trophy, a $5,000 cash prize, $2,500 to support the production of a two-minute video story about the partnership, and two complimentary registrations for the Engagement Scholarship Consortium Annual Conference. A small number of the remaining nominees for the Kellogg award are recognized as Exemplary Projects at the conference and presented with a gift commemorating their accomplishment.

The regional Kellogg award recipients are automatically named finalists in the competition for the national C. Peter Magrath Community Engagement Scholarship Award, presented by APLU and ESC. The Magrath award winner receives a sculpture and a $20,000 prize.

Michigan State University Recipients and Nominees